Exhibition Research

Once our final major project is finish our images will be printed and displayed at an exhibition for the public to see. Our images will be printed and displayed the way that we want them and then they will be available for us to have and to keep. Before we set up our exhibition we have to plan how we want our images to be set out. There are many ways that our images can be set out and there are also many different ways that our images can be printed. The prints we have depend on our idea and everyone’s prints will be different as everyone’s idea is different. As research for this I have researched different ways that images can be exhibited. I have found these images from the Internet but however I have also seen the way that these images have been exhibited at the David Hockney Exhibition in London. Going to this exhibition gave me inspiration for both my final major project and also how I will exhibit my images. From this research I hope to be able to come to a conclusion on how I would like to display my images for the final exhibition.

Exhibition Case Study

The first way to exhibit images is by hanging them up flat on the wall and you can make your image look better whilst doing this by putting the print onto a mount board. This is how we hung our images at our exhibition last year. It was very basic and it did the job well. I liked the way that it turned out but I did think that we could have done something different to make it look better. There are some benefits of having your images placed like this which is that you can have them in any order you like, you can have as many as you want and they can be as close or as far apart from each other. However the only downside to this type of placement is that if they are in a gallery like the national gallery then they may not draw attention to the visitors as they look like every other image hung in the gallery. For my exhibition this time around I don’t think that I will present my images the same way as I would like to do something different for this FMP and I would like my images to be hung in a better and more interesting way. I think that my idea before really benefited from this way of exhibiting but this time around I don’t think it will. Here are some examples of this type of exhibiting.

The next way of displaying images at an exhibition is by hanging them from the ceiling or suspending them from a pole or a barrier. This was the way we were supposed to display our images at exhibition last year but due to space and room conditions it didn’t work out very well and we ended up displaying them flat on the wall. You can do this in a few different ways and I think that hanging up an image like this because it stands out to people especially if it is displayed in a room which is full of flat wall hung images. I think this time around for my final major project I would really like to try and display my images this way as I really want my images to stand out over others work. Even though it didn’t work out very well last time around I think that if I plan it a bit more and work things out a lot better then it may go very well this time around. I think that if all goes to plan them my images could look really good if they are displayed like this. There are benefits of the images being hung like this which I have already mentioned, regarding them standing out among others. However there are some negative benefits of this way of exhibiting images which are, if your images are to be hung the wrong way or you miss something out of the process then you run the risk of your images constantly falling and you keep having to repair the way its hung up. I have included some examples of this type of exhibition.

There is another way, which you can display your images at an exhibition but this type of way if you want your images to be moving or if you have a motion involved in your images. This type of exhibit was very popular at the David Hockney exhibition. The type of exhibit is where he has multiple screens on the way and he had some of his work where he laid the screens out to create a joiner effect but there were also some screens laid out as one that just had the whole image spread across it. This created different effects and inspired me in some way to create a joiner. There are some benefits to this as if your are able to create something detailed and interesting then you will get a really good result that will really interest people and it will make your work stand out amongst other pieces. However there are some negative effects of displaying your work this way, because it is a moving image almost like a video, if you want people to be interested in your work then you need to create something that is interesting the whole way through so that people will remain interested throughout other wise people will just walk away after a few seconds and not pay attention to the rest. In terms of my work it is very unlikely that I will display my images this way as I have no images that are moving or that require movement. I have included some examples of this type of exhibit.

From this case study I have discovered different ways of exhibiting my work. I have come to the conclusion that I would like to display some of my work hung up by a string and some displayed flat on the wall as all of images are a bit different in style and I would like some of my images to be displayed quite differently.

Leave a Reply

