Retouching Images and Applying Colour

 

As we are using old images in our triptychs it is important that we retouch them so they look okay to present and that we can make them look as clear as possible. As most of us haven’t don’t retouching before we have completed this exercise to teach us how to restore an image and get rid of things such as creases, scratches and dust marks. To do this we used the clone stamp tool and then we overlaid the frame on top. These images that we used are example images to practice one but after this practice we will be doing the same thing again on two images that we got from the museum which we may end up using in our triptychs.

We then looked at applying colour to an image and reverting it from black and white 0r sepia to bring it back to its original colours.

apply colour3.jpgApply Colour.jpg

 

apply colour2.jpg

Apply Colour1.jpg

 

To bring these images back to colour we used the paint brush tool and chose a colour that we thought would be suitable for a certain part of the image. It was quite difficult as we really had to judge the colours quite a bit to see what would fit and what wouldn’t. We could also use the lasso tool in this to make the process a lot quicker so we could cut around something and just colour that part in quickly rather than trying to be neat and being really slow.

This technique is good to use in our project as we can use it to bring the older images to life and to add some colour if we want to show something off in an image and make it stand out. It will also give us the opportunity to bring the colours out in the image and compare an old image and a new image in colour rather than one being in colour and one being in black and white.

We also did the same with two of our old images that we found in the museum but we had free reign with these images and we could use any colours that we wanted and we could also choose to colour certain parts rather than the whole image like we did before. I have included these changed images and also there originals too.

This is my first image from the museum that I used and changed into colour. I took the colours from the swatches on photoshop and these are just basic colours that are provided for painting on photoshop. I used the lasso tool a lot in this image as it required me to cut around a lot of things to add one block of colour. I also had to crop the image around the edges as there was part of the cabinet in the image from the museum. Cropping the image just made it a lot more flat and easier to work with.  One of the hard things about this image was the people and I tried so many times to change them and put them into colour and I thought that I would just leave them in black an white as there are only actually 4 people in the image which aren’t many and also where they are quite small its hard to draw around them to get one block of colour and especially as I would also have to use multiple colours for different parts of their bodies.I am very happy with the way that this image turned out and if I could change anything about it, it would be to experiment with a lot more of the colours so that I am able to see a lot more different results rather than the few that I tried and ended up using.

 

This is the second image that I used from the museum that I changed into colour. This is an old image of Harlow police station which still exists today and has also stayed in the same place ever since this picture was taken. I used the same process for this image as my previous image as again all I was doing was changing the colours around from black and white. I found this image a lot easier to colour in because there are a lot of squares and block shapes in this image meaning that I could use a lot of the polygonal lasso tool on photo shop to draw around the squares. However something I found very difficult with this image was changing some of the colours as a lot of the colours on the buildings are black and white already and it was hard to change something that couldn’t really be changed much but some colours I managed to change looked better.

Leave a Reply

