Wide Angles

As part of our Harlow is 70 project we have to be able to include different images from different decades to show how harlow has changed over 70 years of it bing a new town.

As a test for this we had to take 5 different wide angle images in Harlow and these could either be of parks, the town centre, the college or the streets. then once we had taken theses images we had to edit them in photoshop and take out anything modern and try to make them look like a lot older pictures and is if though they were taken from decades like the 60’s or the 70’s. I have included the contact sheets of the images that I took for this shoot.

During this shoot I took quite a lot of images. I worked with Megan during this shoot but all of the final edited images are my own. I took pictures in lots of different locations including, the small park behind the college, the housing estate outside of college, the big town park and also the big duck pond in the town park. I am very happy with the locations that I shot in as I feel that I got some good wide angle shots and I got a good variety of images that I will be able to edit and they won’t look very similar throughout. I then had to chose five of the images that I took and edit them to make them look less modernised. I have included the five edited images  below. I have also included the original images as well so that you can see the changes that I made to the images.

To change this image I first edited out the white lines on the pavement and I did this by using the clone stamp tool and I cloned the pavement around it so it blended in as much as possible. I then edited out the bin in the background and also a bench and a sign on top of the hill as this wouldn’t have been there many years ago, it may have been but it wouldn’t have been as modern as it is now. I then put a sepia filter on the image with an percentage of around 80% which made it quite dark and you could really see the sepia in it. I then found an image of some old photograph paper and the paper looks like what old photos look like now. To add to the old effect of the images that I had I put this on top of my image, the to blend it in I turned the opacity down on that layer and this was my outcome.

To change this image I first edited the white lines on the pavement section of the image in the centre and also the sculpture in the image, as I was unsure whether this would have been there or not as it looks fairly new. I did this again using the clone stamp tool and cloning from the pavement around the outside of what I was trying to get rid of. I then moved on to the green fence around the front of the tree’s and to get rid of this I cloned from around the outside and added in some grass and leaves that were from around the tree’s. I also did the same for the benches that were right at the bottom in the corner. Then I also added another sepia filter like my other images but I did this one a little bit less intense as it made this one a little bit too dark. I then found a screwed up paper image online and layered it over this image with a low opacity much like my other image but with a different style.

With this image I thought that it was a really nice landscape that shows one of the entrances to Harlows’s huge town park so I really wanted to use it. Luckily there wasn’t much to get rid off as there is not much in there which is a good thing as it meant it wouldn’t change much and it wouldn’t take too much playing around with. In this image the only thing that I had to change with this image was getting rid of the impost and the sign right at the top of the hill. They are not very visible when you first look at the image but they are something modern and the point of the task was to get rid of anything modern from an image. I added a very light sepia filter to the images as I had already found a nice old photo image to add on to the top. I really liked this as it made the photo look old but in a more natural way than the other images. It makes it look like the photo has been stored in a box for a long period of time and has slowly gone yellow and brown around the edges.

For this image I wanted to keep things quite simple and try not to add to much in as there was already quite a lot of editing to do wight this image as there were a lot of modern things that needed to be taken out. I started by removing all things modern like the white fence surround the plants, the bin on the path and also the sign post of the patch of grass opposite. I did this again by using the clone stamp tool and using the grass and plants around what I was removing. I then had my blank image which I was happy with. Instead of adding a sepia or orangey type filter which I had already done a lot with my previous images I decided to just make the image black and white. The reason I chose to do this was because when I was doing my research into old images there was a lot of black and white images swell as brown sepia images. I also didn’t add an effect on top as I couldn’t find one to match it well and i felt that it dint really need one either.

For my final image I have created something that looks very much like something you would find in an old photo album. To start off with this image I had quite a bit to edit out such as the white fence, the bench and also the sculpture in the middle of the water. I found it quite hard to edit all of this out as where it takes quite a lot out of the image it means that it has to be able to be blended and look real. I managed to make it look somewhat blended so it didn’t look completely obvious that I had taken stuff out. I also think that were I was adding a filter and a colour change on top it would mask the fact that I have taken something out and if there was anything wrong with the image that I didn’t like it would cover it up. For a filter on this image I  added a layer of old photograph paper on top and it added the light brown in the middle of the image and also the dark brown patches around the side, making it a look a lot older.

Leave a Reply

