Self Experimental Shoot Evaluation 4

As part of our Self project we were asked to complete some experimental shoots to accompany our projects so that we are able to test out our ideas and see how they would look as part of our final project. This also gives us the chance to look at our ideas and images and see if there is anything that we need to change or adjust before our final shoot. As we want everything to run smoothly in our final shoots we need to use these shoots to their full advantage so that we can change things and make things right as soon as possible. I did my experimental shoots to help me see what emotions and mind sets to choose for final shoot to see which ones looked the best and which ones I thought would work well with my original ideas. I planned 4 different experimental shoots just to get as much research into my ideas as possible and make sure I was 100% happy with what my final idea would look like. This is my final of my four experimental shoots that I have completed.

After my third experimental shoot I knew that I just wanted to focus on food and still keep emotions in there an not change that part of my idea.  As it was only an experimental shoot I only chose to focus on two different emotions for my first experimental shoot using emotions but for this shoot I decided to only focus on one as it was one that I really wanted to focus a lot on and get the images right.   I found it a lot easier this way as I was able to use the shoot to its full advantage and see whether this emotion would really work on my final shoot or not and whether there was anything that I needed to change or do differently next time if I chose to use this emotion in my final shoot.

For this shoot I focused on just one emotion because it was one I really liked and knew it was something that I wanted to definitely focus on for my project. In order for me to know whether they could be good to work with or not, this is why I chose them as experiments. The emotion that I chose to focus on for this experimental shoot is Happiness. I really like this emotion and I think if I used the right foods and the right colours I could get this image really right and get the emotions really clear in the images.

I completed my shoot at home in the kitchen using the work surface and the chopping board as my background and I think that this best represented the situation that  I wanted to create and looking at the final images that I have I think that it looks a lot more real and well set out compared to a studio, I think this was the case as because it was quite a dark colour it made the bright colours of the food stand out a lot more and they popped out the image. As I wasn’t in a studio for this shoot I used completely natural lighting and had no light sources set up to enhance my images in any way. Even though I wasn’t in the studio I still used a tripod for some shots were I wanted to keep the camera completely still or if I wanted to create a really complicated angle for an image that I wasn’t able to do using just my hands. For the shoot I used a Canon 1200D DSLR Camera with and 18-55mm lens attached and this in the only lens that I used and I feel that it made the images look really good even though it is a basic lens with not much zoom or focal length. I use mainly food for this part of the shoot as I couldn’t actually find any props that I could use for my shoot that would relate to happiness but Im sure for my final shoot I will be able to find some props that will relate to happiness.

I am very  happy with the way that these images turned out and I think that the different images show the different scenarios and personalities really well. I have included contact sheets from the shoot that show all of the images that I took.

As you can see from my contact sheets I tried to use a couple of different shot types in my images but because for both parts of the shoot I used a flat lay set up it was hard to use different shot types without cutting things out from the image. I did try other shot types in my shoot but it meant that you couldn’t see some of the items properly and it didn’t make the image look very clear. I feel that by doing this it showed me what type of shots that I should use on my final shoot and how I should hold and point my camera to make the picture look its best and to put my subject and message across clearly and successfully for my final images. Again I kept the amount of pictures I took to a minimum as I didn’t want to have lots to choose from because it would have made it hard for me to see whats right and whats wrong with the images that I have taken as they would almost all be the same.

Out of all of images I have chosen a few that I think were the best ones and if I to use this for a proper final piece then I would use these images I have included a gallery of these final images below.

I chose these images as my final four as I feel that they best represent what I am trying to get across and they best represent my chosen feelings and emotions really well by including a clear view of everything that I think that would relate to this emotion in term of food and different props. I chose to use a flat lay for my images as I found this the best way to present it and I was able to get a really clear image from this that I was really happy with. I think taught me to use flat lays for my final shoots because they are a lot easier than trying to make something that is really complicated and that looks nice when you can easily get the right message and point across with a flat lay. For this shoot I used a lot of different brightly coloured foods and packaging as happiness I think is a lot about bright colours and bold statements. I think if I was to do this shoot again then I would research into what foods make people happy and what they would eat to cheer themselves up and use happiness from someone else’s perspective and their point of view as I feel that I would be able to get  variety of different images and opinions.

Leave a Reply

