Self Experimental Shoot Evaluation 2

As part of our Self project we were asked to complete some experimental shoots to accompany our projects so that we are able to test out our ideas and see how they would look as part of our final project. This also gives us the chance to look at our ideas and images and see if there is anything that we need to change or adjust before our final shoot. As we want everything to run smoothly in our final shoots we need to use these shoots to their full advantage so that we can change things and make things right as soon as possible. I did my experimental shoots to help me see what emotions and mind sets to choose for final shoot to see which ones looked the best and which ones I thought would work well with my original ideas. I planned 4 different experimental shoots just to get as much research into my ideas as possible and make sure I was 100% happy with what my final idea would look like. This is my second of my four experimental shoots.

Even though I chose to base my on food and what foods people would eat deepening on how they feel, I still wanted to experiment with different drinks and see if I thought it would work well alongside my food shoots. I chose a few different scenarios in terms of what people would drink. I chose to base it off of a party and what different people would drink at a party and what their personality would be like and use the image to try and represent their personality through a drink. I used a lot of different drinks and props to try and make this work as much as I could. I feel as if though it worked well but because of the range of different personalities and emotions involved in this I think that it wouldn’t work in my final shoot and that it would clash too much with the final ideas that I have put down in my proposal. I think that if I was basing my whole entire project of just drink or different situations where peoples personalities could be shown through drink then I think this shoot would work really well as an experiment, but I thought it was really good to try it out and see how it would look no matter what the final outcome would be.

I completed my shoot at home in the kitchen using the work surface and a white background and I think that this best represented the situation that  I wanted to create and looking at the final images that I have I think that it looks a lot more real and well set out compared to a studio. As I wasn’t in a studio for this shoot I used completely natural lighting and had no light sources set up to enhance my images in any way. Even though I wasn’t in the studio I still used a tripod for some shots were I wanted to keep the camera completely still or if I wanted to create a really complicated angle for an image that I wasn’t able to do using just my hands. For the shoot I used a Canon 1200D DSLR Camera with and 18-55mm lens attached and this in the only lens that I used and I feel that it made the images look really good even though it is a basic lens with not much zoom or focal length.

I am very  happy with the way that these images turned out and I think that the different images show the different scenarios and personalities really well. I have included contact sheets from the shoot that show all of the images that I took.

As you can see from the contact sheets I took a lot of different images as I wanted to capture the images using a wide range of shots and also be constantly moving the up or glass around to try and make the image that best it can be. I feel that by doing this I used the shoot to its full advantage to really be able to know whether it worked for me or not and whether I would really use it as something towards my final shoot or not. I think that it was good that I used the shoot to its full advantage and took lots of different images as it made my decision to put this towards my final shoot a lot easier because if I only had a few images to look at then I wouldn’t have explored this idea enough to be able to know whether it would work or not. So I am happy with the amount I did.

Out of all of images I have chosen a few that I think were the best ones and if I to use this for a proper final piece then I would use these images I have included a gallery of these final images below.

I chose these images as I feel that they highlight the personality that I am trying to represents but it still includes others in the background, so it is really like a party where you have one person being highlighted and then everyone else in the background at the ‘party’. I used a shallow depth of field setting on my camera to focus mainly on the front drink and blur the others out in the background. I tired to include as many different people as I could. I did, the person who will always drink wine, the person who always drinks beer, the person who is usually driving and will only drink tea,water or a soft drink. But for the final person I represented it through a variety of different drinks such as water, orange juice, pepsi and tea. If I had to do this shoot again then I would test out these shots again using more drinks and try and incorporate food into it so that I can see whether it will represent the person in a better way or whether it makes it a lot more unclear. I think that if I used food this time around then it may have looked a lot more like what I want to do for my final idea which would have helped me to see if drink would have worked a lot more than this shoot has helped me. Considering this I am still happy with the way that all my images turned out.

Leave a Reply

