Technique 4 Shoot Evaluation-Layering

As part of my self research experimental shoots I chose another technique from my mod board to focus on and it was another photoshop technique called Layering. This technique is where you take one or two different images and merge them together using layering. They way to create an image using this technique would be by taking one image and then a variety of other images that you can either take yourself or get from somewhere else. You can then either cut out the shape of the shape of the second image onto the first and then slot the second into the hole. Or another way that you can do it is just by adding in the other images to the first and putting them all over the first to add things that you wanted in the image  but didn’t have whilst you was actually shooting. This is the way that I chose to use this technique because of the image that I chose as inspiration, because this is the way that the picture used this technique to add words to the pictures of a body to show different emotions. I would also like to use this technique in another way if I had to use it again because I think that it is a very cool way of adding different things to an image and making it look subtle because  you have actually made a space for that thing in the image and it looks a lot more real than if you just dragged something onto an image and just plonked it somewhere. The way that I didn’t use the technique for this shoot I have actually used it before in a previous project and it was the first time that I used it. I found it quite easy to use and I would definitely want to use it again for a different shoot. I have included the picture that I took for my mood board as inspiration for my technique shoot.

I had already used this technique before in a previous shoot so I felt comfortable using it in photoshop and found it very easy to use. I tried not to take too many photos in the studio because i only needed to use a few which was my main one and also a few others that I would be adding on top so I didn’t need to add loads and loads on top.I decided to have image like the one that I had researched so I only needed one main image as a base and some extras to add in on top to make the image the way I wanted it to be. I didn’t have to take many different images for this shoot because it was only an experiment. Because of what I have already decided to do for my self project I don’t think I will use this technique in my shoot as there is no way that I could add it in anywhere because my shoot just involves flat lays of food and different props.The camera I used for this shoot was a Canon 1200D with an 18-55mm lens and I took the picture in the studio using a soft box light. I have included my final picture from my shoot.

 

IMG_8010 copy.jpg

I am very happy with my final image and I think that it turned out a lot better than i first expected it to. I found the editing process very easy and it wasn’t too complicated to move around the different words. I think this is because I had already done something like this before so it was just following the same steps as before to get it to work the same. I feel that I could maybe change a few different things next time if I had to do the shoot again. Next time I would try and create an image that has a lot more depth and meaning, I could create a scenario or a situation that would involve the technique that I have chosen. This could be having a person who has a lot on their mind and is really down or depressed and because of this they feel as it though they can’t say much and can’t express their feelings through speaking.Using this technique means that I could use the words of how they are feeling and put them all over the picture to represent their feelings and emotions.I think this would be a good idea as it has a clear message.

Leave a Reply

