Final Major Project Evaluation

For our final major project we were asked to create eight final images that could be based on anything that we wanted, it could have any subject matter or could even represent a brand, a piece of my or even something like a charity or an issue.

For my final major project I chose to focus on poetry and how to illustrate and annotate a poem using images. The genre of poem which I decided to use was nature poetry and I really enjoy nature photography and taking pictures lots of different things to do with nature, so I thought it would be a good idea to combine the two as I knew it would be something that I really enjoyed.

I started off by researching a lot of different things that would help me develop and think of my idea and I researched many different images that related to the idea that I had originally thought of, other things that I researched were different blogs, websites, photographers and also journals. After my research I finalised my ideas and came up with my final idea that I could start planning and researching further.

After I had done this I then wrote my proposal and said what my idea was and how it was going to work. I used the proposal throughout the whole process of the project to help me refresh my idea and know exactly what I need to be doing and how I should be doing things.

I then conducted a few experimental shoots using different poems which would help me to know how my idea would work and how it would go roughly during my final shoot. I used two different nature poems during my experimental shoots and I also used a emotion poem so that I had some that I could have as a back up plan for my project if I didn’t like my idea during the experiments or if something went wrong during the planning of my final proper idea that I really want to do. I really enjoyed shooting my experiments as they got me really excited for idea and they showed me how good my final eight images could actually be.

After my final experimental shoot I then evaluated all three of them to see how well that they actually went and how useful they where towards my actual idea and how they would contribute to my final idea and how it would work with my idea.

I think that my experimental shoots went really well and they really helped to progress my idea and it also helped me to make things about my idea better and seem a lot more progressed. I think that it was good that I could do experiments for my idea as it really helped to progress my idea and work out actually and physically how things were actually going to work.

After these shoots I then went on to actually planning my final shoot and working out what poem I was going to use where I was actually going to shoot my pictures, what my budget was and also what equipment I was going to need in order to take my pictures and get the right results which I wanted. I found it really good to plan it as it made it a lot easier during the shoot as I was able to follow it during my shoot and it made it a lot easier as I had something to always keep me on track and I wasn’t trying to make so many things up on the spot which would essentially waste time during my shoot that may have cost me.

As I was doing poetry I thought it would make my shoot a lot easier if I was to find my poem quite a while before my shoot and then analyse it so I know what different shots I could do and I would be able to follow it a long with my plan so that I knew what different shots I would have to be taking. The poem that I chose was one that I had previously studied during my experimental shoot, the reason I chose this poem is because I found it really good to follow and already in my head I had a few different ideas of what shots I could get from this poem. It also added another genre to my project which would be colour as it relates nature and colour together and this would give me the opportunity to experiment with different colour balance filters and also things like levels and curves which would contribute to changing the colour of the images and also the way the colour looks in the image. I found it really useful to analyse my poem as it really helped me to know what shots I had to take and it guided me through my shoot which made it a lot easier to do and I wasn’t really stuck or lost at any point.

I then went on to do my final shoot and I found it went really well and I really enjoyed taking my pictures and I think they went really well I managed to get lots of different pictures that I really like and that would help to annotate the poem really well. Because of a few problems with lighting and the way the camera took the picture I knew whilst taking the pictures that there would be some editing involved after in order to enhance the colour and make it a lot brighter so it would look how I originally planned it.

I took my images in my back garden as there was a lot of things to work with out there and the different aspects of nature really fitted in well with the poem and I knew I would get really good shots out there. I used a Canon DSLR 1200D with a 18-35mm lens which was really good as it gave me the right amount of zoom and focus so that I was able to get the right images that were crisp, close up and pure. I had to use a tripod for some of my pictures to keep the camera still but because I was doing a lot of close up shots I didn’t need to use the tripod as much as I thought.

Below are my final eight images and also contact sheets of all the images that I took during my final shoot.

2

This is the image which I took for the colour green. The image is a close up of the leaves from a bush that I found and it also features a blurred background of the fence and also a taller tree.I blurred out the background by zooming in close to the leaves and adjusting the focus on the image so that it would blur out the background. The technique I used to get this image was to zoom in really close up to the leaves and make sure the aperture and the focus were adjusted the right way so that I could blur out the background meaning that the main focus would purely be on the leaves and nothing else because it would be blurred out. When carrying out this image I had to make sure that I had the right lighting and that the sun or even the flash wasn’t being too harsh on it other wise it would mean that the colour could have been drained out and you wouldn’t be able to see bright green colour much. I also had to consider how close I was to the actual tree and how far I was zoomed in. If I was to close I may have only just got one leave and nothing else and if I was too zoomed in then there could have been a chance that you couldn’t see anything around the outside of the image and you would have only just seen the leaves. I think this wouldn’t have looked good because there would have been no depth to the image and you wouldn’t see anything else which could have been quite boring. I think it was good that I made sure I kept checking the images during this process as I could have ended up with quite boring pictures. I think this image is really successful as it was really like how I planned and I really like the way in which it turned out finally. I think the strength in my image was that I managed to get the right shot of the subject and I managed to get a really nice close up shot and still blur the background of it without much attempt. I like that I managed to keep the small part of the image the main focus and that I left out the bigger parts of the image and kept them blurry and out of focus. I felt that because I was doing a lot of close up shots through out my shoot I should focus on the small close up things in my image and blur out the bigger things that were either really far away or that I couldn’t get close up to. I also really like that I managed to have two different things in the image and them both be the same color. I think if they weren’t the same color then I would have cropped it out or zoomed in more but because they were both similar colors I thought it would be good to keep it in but just add a blurred effect to it. I also really like the way I edited my image, what I did was crop the image to take out anything random from the outside and then I enhanced the green color balance in the image to add more brightness to the green and make it more bold and vivid. I then adjusted the levels of certain colors in the image so that they are more blended in and look a lot more natural. I think that if I could change this image and make it better then I would change the place where I took it as I feel there were not enough leaves surrounding my focus point, if there were more then I could have more of a blurred out green effect in the background, meaning I would have to do less to enhance and change the color in editing which would mean that I have more of a natural effect in my image.

1

This is the picture which I took for the color blue. This image is a close up landscape shot of the sky including the tree’s, bunting and also the garden shed. I really like the landscape shot as it includes the main color that I am focusing on and it also includes a variety of different colors which is good because when it comes to nature it is quite hard to find something that includes blue on its own. The only thing that I could think of was the sky and I think that if I just shot it on its own it would look quite boring. I thought maybe I could try and get a shot with the clouds in the sky, but because it was such lovely weather and the sky was so blue that there were not many clouds in the sky. So that I could have something else in the picture rather than just the sky I decided to use a landscape shot for this picture and also add in some of the tree’s and other things that I had around me. The technique that I used was that I changed the setting on my camera to the Landscape setting which really helped to make the lighting right and also adjusted the camera settings to make it good for landscape shooting. This also gave me a really good aperture and shutter speed which set the lighting right and also made the colours in the image quite bright and also very clear and vivid. I really like the landscape setting on my camera as it always makes landscape shots seem a bit more professional and clear because they have been put on good settings that have adapted to the surroundings even if it is foggy, rainy or sunny. I then edited this image in photo shop to see if I could make anything better and to also see if there was any way in which I could make the colours seem a lot more brighter and bolder. As I had already done this in one of my other images that I had already edited I knew how to do this and what techniques and processes to use in order to get this result. To start with I cropped the image around the outside as there where things in the image that I didn’t really need to have as it didn’t look right in the image and it didn’t add anything to it, that it didn’t already have. I then used colour balance on photo shop and this allowed me to change the balance and the tones of different colours in the images. As the images was highly related to the colour blue I adjusted and enhanced the two blue filters using colour balance and this brightened the blue aspects of the image up slightly and it also added a blue filter across the whole image. Even though it did this it didn’t do it too much that it made the image look bad or fake it did it enough to look natural and just a brighter coloured blue. I am really happy with the success of this image as  I think it came out really well and it looks really good and it was what I expected. I think the the blue came out really well and is really vibrant and bold and is enough to really represent the poem well. I am also really happy with the way which the landscape shot actually came out I think that it looks really clear and crisp and it doesn’t look blurry or out of focus. I think I also could have changed some things about my image to make it a bit better and to improve it. If I could do this image again then I would choose a different location to do my landscape shot as I feel that I could have taken my image somewhere a lot better that has better and more broad landscape views maybe somewhere like a high hill or peak or even somewhere like a beach or a cliff top as the landscape would have been a lot more broad and it would have been a better view.

3

 This is the picture which I took for the colour yellow. This image is a close up landscape shot of the sky including the tree’s and also the bushes from the garden. I really like the landscape shot as it includes the main colour that I am focusing on and it also adds a different colour to mix into it and make it a lot more complex which is good because when it comes to nature it is quite hard to find something that includes yellow on its own other than small flowers. The only thing that I could think of was the sky and I think that if I just shot it on its own it would look quite boring. I thought maybe I could try and get a shot with the clouds in the sky, so as the sun was coming down I thought it was really good and would make a nice shot as the sunset has some really strong aspects of yellow in. So that I could have something else in the picture rather than just the sky I decided to use a landscape shot for this picture and also add in some of the tree’s. The technique that I used was that I changed the setting on my camera to the Landscape setting, like my other image, which  again really helped to make the lighting right and also adjusted the camera settings to make it good for landscape shooting. This also gave me a really good aperture and shutter speed which set the lighting right and also made the colours in the image quite bright and also very clear and vivid.  I then edited this image in photo shop to see if I could make anything better and to also see if there was any way in which I could make the colours seem a lot more brighter and bolder. As I had already done this in a few  of my other images that I had already edited I knew how to do this and what techniques and processes to use in order to get this result. To start with I cropped the image around the outside to make it a lot smaller and it also cropped out a few other things that I already had in the image like more tree’s and bushes and I think that made it a bit over crowded and I think the image looks good with just a small amount of tree’s and bushes in it. I then used colour balance on photo shop and this allowed me to change the balance and the tones of different colours in the images. As the images was highly related to the colour yellow I adjusted and enhanced the two yellow filter using colour balance and this brightened the yellow aspects of the image up slightly and it also added a yellow filter across the whole image. I am really happy with the success of this image as  I think it came out really well and it looks really good and it was what I expected.I think that the yellow came through really well and the added colour filter that was added to it made it a lot softer and a lot more natural as the camera made the yellow quite bright, where as I wanted more of a soft and natural yellow and photo shop made this for me. I think I also could have changed some things about my image to make it a bit better and to improve it. If I could do this image again then I would choose a different location to do my landscape shot as I feel that I could have taken my image somewhere a lot better that has better and more broad landscape views during the peak of the sun rise or the sunset as this would have given me a broad view of the sun and a lot more yellow would have been in my image and I would have got a brighter effect of the yellow and I think it would have made this shot a lot better.

4

This is the picture which I took for the colour purple. This image is a close up of the flower that was in the mist of a lot of different bushes and brambles. I really like the close up shot  as it includes the main colour  that I am focusing on which is purple  and it also includes a muted and dark green, because it is so dark and subtle it makes the purple stand out a lot more and I also used the flash in the images and because I was so close to the actual flower it flashed a lot more on the flower than it did on the bushes. It was hard to try and find something to do for the colour purple as you don’t find many things in the garden  that are purple and that are nice to photograph. When I was looking for something to find in the garden I knew I wanted to include some close up shots in my shoot and I found a few small purple flowers in the middle of a lot of bushes and branches and I decided to do a close up of just one flower and have the green bushes in the background. So that I could have something else in the picture rather than just the flower I decided to zoom out slightly with the camera so that I could add another colour to the background to make it better. The technique that I used was that I changed the setting on my camera to manual which is really good as it gives you the ability to focus on all the different things you need to take an image and it gives you full control to change anything from aperture to ISO in order for you to get the results you want. Because I was able to change so much in my image it gave me a really lighting and aperture so that I was able to take the right picture that I needed. I really like the manual setting on my camera as you can adapt it to what you want and not use a default setting on the camera which might not give you the right results that you want to have and you can adapt it to your surroundings and experiment with it until you get it right. I then edited this image in photo shop to see if I could make anything better and to also see if there was any way in which I could make the colours seem a lot more brighter and bolder. As I had already done this with few of my other images that I had already edited I knew how to do this and what techniques and processes to use in order to get this result. To start with I cropped the image around the outside as there where things in the image that I didn’t really need to have as it didn’t look right in the image and it didn’t add anything to it, that it didn’t already have. I then used colour balance on photo shop and this allowed me to change the balance and the tones of different colours in the images. As the images was highly related to the colour purple I adjusted and enhanced the purple in the images and it also muted out the green a lot more and made it a lot darker. Even though it did this it didn’t do it too much that it made the image look bad or fake it did it enough to look natural and just a brighter coloured purple. I am really happy with the success of this image as  I think it came out really well and it looks really good and it was what I expected. I think the the purple came out really well and is really vibrant and bold and is enough to really represent the poem well. I am also really happy with the way which the close up shot actually came out I think that it looks really clear and crisp and it doesn’t look blurry or out of focus. I think I also could have changed some things about my image to make it a bit better and to improve it. If I could do this image again then I would choose a different location to do my close up shot as I think that I could have had a location with a lot more to it and a lot more purple flowers. It would have been good to do it in a park or a botanical garden as there are a lot of different plants and flowers I could have used for my shoot.

5

This is the picture which I took for the colour orange. This image is a close up of the leaves that were on a bush of dead flowers and darkened leaves. I really like the close up shot  as it includes the main colour  that I am focusing on which is orange and it also includes a muted and dark brown around the outside, because it is so dark and subtle it makes the purple stand out a lot more and I also used the flash in the images and because I was so close to the actual leaves it flashed a lot more on the leaves than it did on the branches and everything else around the outside. It was hard to try and find something to do for the colour orange as you don’t find many things in the garden  that are orange especially at this time of year and that are nice to photograph. When I was looking for something to find in the garden I knew I wanted to include some  more close up shots in my shoot and I found a bunch of dead and crisp orange leaves that  had been cut off of a tree and left in a pile in the corner of the garden . So that I could have something else in the picture rather than just the leaves and branches I decided to zoom out slightly with the camera so that I could add another colour to the background to make it better. The technique that I used was that I changed the setting on my camera to manual which is really good as it gives you the ability to focus on all the different things you need to take an image and it gives you full control to change anything from aperture to ISO in order for you to get the results you want. Because I was able to change so much in my image it gave me a really lighting and aperture so that I was able to take the right picture that I needed. I really like the manual setting on my camera as you can adapt it to what you want and not use a default setting on the camera which might not give you the right results that you want to have and you can adapt it to your surroundings and experiment with it until you get it right. I then edited this image in photo shop to see if I could make anything better and to also see if there was any way in which I could make the colours seem a lot more brighter and bolder. As I had already done this with a lot of my other images that I had already edited I knew how to do this and what techniques and processes to use in order to get this result. To start with I cropped the image around the outside as there where things in the image that I didn’t really need to have as it didn’t look right in the image and it didn’t add anything to it, that it didn’t already have. I then used colour balance on photo shop and this allowed me to change the balance and the tones of different colours in the images. As the images was highly related to the colour orange I adjusted and enhanced the orange in the images and it also muted out the brown a lot more and made it a lot darker. Even though it did this it didn’t do it too much that it made the image look bad or fake it did it enough to look natural and just a brighter coloured orange. I am really happy with the success of this image as  I think it came out really well and it looks really good and it was what I expected. I think the the orange came out really well and is really vibrant and bold and is enough to really represent the poem well. I am also really happy with the way which the close up shot actually came out I think that it looks really clear and crisp and it doesn’t look blurry or out of focus. I think I also could have changed some things about my image to make it a bit better and to improve it. If I could do this image again then I would choose a different location to do my close up shot as I think that I could have had a location with a lot more to it and a lot more orange plants and flowers. It would have been good to do it in a park or a botanical garden as there are a lot of different plants and flowers I could have used for my shoot.

6

This is the picture which I took for the colour red. This image is an action shot of a burning fire in a pit. I really like the action shot as it includes the main colour  that I am focusing on which is red and it also includes a dark orange and also some brown around the outside which comes from the rest of the fire and the sticks and leaves that were being used to ignite the fire and make the big bold flames. I didn’t have many ideas for the colour red other than flowers and because I had already done pictures with flowers and plants I decided to add some action into my shoot and make it a bit more exciting. When I was looking for something to find in the garden I knew I wanted to include some action shots in my images and still be able to include a certain colour that I was focusing on . So that I could have something else in the picture rather than just the leaves and branches set them a light and include a fire so that it would create a brighter tone of red and it would also mean I would have included a different type of shot in to my shoot which is action. The technique that I used was that I changed the setting on my camera to manual which is really good as it gives you the ability to focus on all the different things you need to take an image and it gives you full control to change anything from aperture to ISO in order for you to get the results you want. Because I was able to change so much in my image it gave me a really lighting and aperture so that I was able to take the right picture that I needed. I really like the manual setting on my camera as you can adapt it to what you want and not use a default setting on the camera which might not give you the right results that you want to have and you can adapt it to your surroundings and experiment with it until you get it right. I also had to use a tripod for this image so I could be a safe distance away from the fire and also so that I could keep the camera straight and focused. This made it a lot easier as I would have had  a lot of camera shake in the image if I took it without. I then edited this image in photo shop to see if I could make anything better and to also see if there was any way in which I could make the colours seem a lot more brighter and bolder. As I had already done this with a lot of my other images that I had already edited I knew how to do this and what techniques and processes to use in order to get this result. To start with I cropped the image around the outside as there where things in the image that I didn’t really need to have as it didn’t look right in the image and it didn’t add anything to it, that it didn’t already have. I then used colour balance on photo shop and this allowed me to change the balance and the tones of different colours in the images. As the images was highly related to the colour red I adjusted and enhanced the red in the images and it also muted out the other colours in the image and made them a lot darker.I am really happy with the success of this image as  I think it came out really well and it looks really good and it was what I expected. I think the the red came out really well and is really vibrant and bold and is enough to really represent the poem well. I am also really happy with the way which the close up shot actually came out I think that it looks really clear and crisp and it doesn’t look blurry or out of focus. I think I also could have changed some things about my image to make it a bit better and to improve it. If I could do this image again then I would choose a different location to do my close up shot as I think that I could have had a location with a lot more to it and a lot more red plants and flowers. It would have been good to do it in a park or a botanical garden as there are a lot of different plants and flowers I could have used for my shoot.

These are the pictures that I took for the final part of the poem which talks about all different combined colours. This image is a landscape shot of the garden and it includes as much of the garden and the elements that I had already used throughout the rest of my images. For the final part of the poem I found it hard to get something for those lines as they didn’t really mention a specific colour or any specific about nature . This is when I came up with the idea of doing something to do with landscapes that would include some of the colours that I had already focused on and combine them all together as the poem talks about this. As there are different colours mentioned through out the poem I decided to do two different colours that would portray the different colours mentioned in the poem. There are two different types of colours mentioned in the poem and they are warm and cold colours. Using this knowledge I decided to use it to my ability and get two images from it. When the sun had just started to set I took a picture right in the corner of the garden so that you could see most of what I had already done and used through out the poem this represents the more cool toned colours in the poem like the blue and the green and because of the lighting you can actually see these different colours in the image. Then when the sun was nearly gone I took another picture in roughly the same place as before but a bit more zoomed in so that you could see more of the sun setting, this represents the more warm toned colours in the poem things like red, orange and purple and using brightness and contrast and also levels on photo shop I was able to adjust the colours so that you could see the different colours through and with the sun light.The technique that I used was that I changed the setting on my camera to the Landscape setting which really helped to make the lighting right and also adjusted the camera settings to make it good for landscape shooting. This also gave me a really good aperture and shutter speed which set the lighting right and also made the colours in the image quite bright and also very clear and vivid. I really like the landscape setting on my camera as it always makes landscape shots seem a bit more professional and clear because they have been put on good settings that have adapted to the surroundings even if it is foggy, rainy or sunny. I then edited these images in photo shop to see if I could make anything better and to also see if there was any way in which I could make the colours seem a lot more brighter and bolder. As there were two different types of colours in these images I wanted to be able to edit these images so that you could see the actual colours in the image that represent the two different types of colour, cool and warm. I managed to do this using a couple of features which where brightness, contrast, levels and also curves, these things brought out the different tones and highlights in the images.  I am really happy with the success of this image as  I think it came out really well and it looks really good and it was what I expected. I think the the colours came out really well and is really vibrant and bold and is enough to really represent the poem well. I am also really happy with the way which the landscape shots actually came out I think that it looks really clear and crisp and it doesn’t look blurry or out of focus. I think I also could have changed some things about my images to make them a bit better and to improve them. If I could do these images again then I would choose a different location to do my landscape shots as I feel that I could have taken my images somewhere a lot better that has better and more broad landscape views.

I am really happy with the outcome of my shoot and I think that it really represented the poem well and I managed to match it up and annotate it well. I also think that I managed to get a really good view of the different colours and make them come out a lot bolder and brighter than I first expected. I feel that I managed to find a wide variety of shots and subjects to use for the poem that I had and the colours provided considering the space and the time that I had to complete it. I think if I had to do the whole shoot again then I would change the location of the shoot so that I had more of a choice of what I could shoot and maybe I could have got a more wider range of different shots.

Leave a Reply

