FMP Project Proposal

Centre Name and Number

Name– Harlow College

Number


Student Name and Number 

Name- Emily Andrews

Number- 11187150


Project Proposal Title and Date

Title- FMP Proposal

Date- 20/04/2016


Main Area Of Activity/Pathway

In terms of genre for my project I feel that it would be very fine art based as it will have a lot of concept and meaning which would relate back to the poem which I choose. It may not all have the same subject matter throughout as there are different lines and meanings throughout a poem but it will all have the same type of shots included and I will also try to include the same types of editing throughout my project pieces as this links them in some way, so they don’t look like 8 random images on the page as this is not the point of the project and the images wouldn’t flow together properly and may not even match the poem messages.


A Review Of Your Progress and Achievement To Date

So far in this project I have completed certain things that will go towards my FMP and will also help me to get a better grade at the end of the assessment. I have already looked at a variety of different photography job roles and the requirements and also what sort of qualifications you need in order to be successful in this job role. This helped me to understand photography jobs a lot better and more specifically, as I didn’t know much before then about specific job roles and their requirements. I have also looked at specific job briefs and compared them and found a number of differences and similarities that shows the dynamics and specifics of different photography job roles. This has helped me to learn more about briefs and what an type of photographer would have to consider when being asked to do a job. In terms of things to do more with my FMP I have already decided on an idea and what I will do for the project and before this I came up with two rough ideas that I chose between which shows that I had more than one idea and didn’t make one up on the spot on the day of the shoot. I now have a final idea which I am ready to plan for and looking at the brief the next thing that I will have to do for this project would be to create a Visual Research Document, using different formats of research and then this will lead to creating a mood board of my ideas.


The Project Concept and Rationale

For this project we have been asked to produce 8 final photographs that will be used as a series in a exhibition that we will have to present at the end of the unit. We will then put these in our own portfolio and this will develop us all as photographers as it will either add to portfolios that we already have or will mean that we now have one. We will have to do research into different photographers, types of photography and also different techniques that we can use to make our final images better or make them link better. We were given four categories/genres that we could pick from and would help us come up with a specific idea. The categories we could chose from are below.

  • Editorial
  • Photographic Essay
  • Illustrated Poem
  • Advertising Campaign

How The Project Will Be Evaluated and Reviewed 

This project will be self evaluated by me and this is where I will post my final outcomes on my blog and I will discuss how they came out. I will also say what I like about them and what I feel was successful about my final project and this is where I will explain the strengths about my project and what I feel went well. I will also evaluate my weaknesses about my project and say what I felt went not so well in the project and what I could do next time in order to improve and make the pictures look better next time. This will shows that as a photographer I am able to self evaluate my work and spot good things and bad things and show ways in which I can improve them next time to make them better. I will also use this opportunity to explain what happened during the shoot and whether I felt it ran smoothly and I will also identify if anything went wrong during set up and actually carrying out the shoot and what I could do differently next time in order for it to run smoothly next time. In my evaluation I should also include previous experiments of my final images which will show my progression from experiments to the final images. I will also compare them and show in my evaluation what I changed between the final two images and why I decided to change these things.


A Bibliography Detailing All Research Sources Used

Author: First Light Photography

Date: 2010

Title: ‘Defining A Word Through Fine Art’

URL: http://first-light-photography.blogspot.co.uk/2010/06/defining-word-through-fine-art.html

Date Accessed: 20/04/2016

I found this source really useful as it showed me some work that some people have done before in illustrated poetry and once you look at the link it also shows a wider variety of illustrated poetry work that people have already done.

Author: She Walks Softly (blog)

Date: May 4th 2015

Title: ‘Eye Poetry Photography’

URL:https://shewalkssoftly.com/2015/05/04/eye-poetry-photography/

Date Accessed: 20/04/2016

I found this source really useful as it showed me some work that some people have done before in illustrated poetry and once you look at the link it also shows a wider variety of illustrated poetry work that people have already done.

Author: Viveanne Mok

Date:2013

Title: ‘Pagan Poetry’

URL: http://www.thecultofstyle.com/2013/07/pagan-poetry_20.html

Date Accessed:20/04/2016

I found this source really useful as it showed me some work that some people have done before in illustrated poetry and once you look at the link it also shows a wider variety of illustrated poetry work that people have already done.

Author: Pinar (blog)

Date: Feb 2014

Title: ‘Annie Leibovitz’s Celebrity Disney Dream Portraits’

URL:http://www.mymodernmet.com/profiles/blogs/annie-leibovitz-disney-dream-portraits

Date Accessed:20/04/2016

I found this source really useful as the image showed me that when a photographer takes a series of images they don’t have to be linked in terms of subject matter, they can be linked in a way of which the image is taken or edited as they can look the same in terms of editing and it links them all together.

Author:  Doctor Disney

Date: 2014

Title: ‘Annie Leibovitz Image Gallery Of Disney Dream Portraits- Celebrities As Disney Characters’ 

URL: http://www.doctordisney.com/annie-leibovitzs-image-gallery-of-disney-dream-portraits-celebrities-as-disney-characters/

Date Accessed:20/04/16

I found this source really useful as the image showed me that when a photographer takes a series of images they don’t have to be linked in terms of subject matter, they can be linked in a way of which the image is taken or edited as they can look the same in terms of editing and it links them all together.

Author: Rheana Murray

Date: June 29th 2012

Title: ‘Victim Of Beauty’

URL: http://www.nydailynews.com/life-style/fashion/magazine-explains-controversial-fashion-shoot-photos-aren-intended-glamorize-violence-article-1.1098313

Date Accessed: 20/04/2016

I found this research source really helpful as when I was thinking about one of my second ideas to have as a backup or to actually do if I wanted I was looking for some images to support my idea to show what I was trying to say and make it a lot clearer. These images are really helpful as they showed me what different photographers can do when it comes to dealing with such a delicate matter of domestic violence.

Author: Jerry Uelsmann

Date: September 8th 2013

Title: Jerry Uelsmann – Visual Poetry – Photography | coil – where are you

URL : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rW7msXNLYv8

Date Accessed: 22/04/2016

I found this research source really helpful as it helped me to see what images look like in transitions and how they look put together whilst a poem is being said or presented in a video. As this is a video I was able to see the images together whilst the poem was being read and this enabled me to understand it more as I didn’t keep looking at a poem and then back at the images to try and understand what the images are referencing in the poem.

Author: Lara Reemas

Date: February 19th 2013

Title: a Joker – poetry by Saral Photography by Sameer Rana [ Canon 7D ]

URL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hcirM4AuohM

Date Accessed: 22/04/2016

I found this research source really useful as the pictures in the video showed how emotions can be brought into poetry photography and how different emotions from different poems can be included in photography to show messages from poems as many emotions can be shown through different types of photography and this would help if you where focuisng on a more emotion based poem.

Author: She Walks Softly

Date: May 4th 2015

Title: Eye Poetry Photography

URL: https://shewalkssoftly.com/2015/05/04/eye-poetry-photography/

Date Accessed: 22/04/2016

This really helped me to develop my ideas as it this source of research was written based as well as visual so it showed me an image that a photographer had done but then explained reasons and connotations behind it.

Author: S.L.P. Martin

Date: December 29th 2015

Title: Read Between The Minds

URL: https://slpmartin.wordpress.com/page/19/

Date Accessed: 22/04/2016

His helped me for my idea as it showed me what images would look like together to show a whole poem and its effectiveness, but then it also shows how effective it is with one line of a poem and one image alone.

Author: Irene Suchoki

Date: Not Given

Title: Eye Poetry

URL: http://www.irenesuchocki.com/

Date Accessed: 22/04/2016

Her website helped me and influenced my idea as it showed me more of the visual aspects of the genre rather than other research sources where people wrote a lot more about a picture rather than just put the picture up and let people work it out for them selves.

Author: Scott Mead

Date: Not Given

Title: Scott Mead Photography

URL: http://scottmeadphotography.co.uk/

Date Accessed: 22/04/2016

The fine art photography is something I should study during research because it will show me what types of styles and layouts that my photos should be like. This helped me as it showed me what type of photos I should be taking and what genre of photographer and photography I should be looking at to give me ideas.

Author: British Journal Of Photography

Date: Not Given

Title: British Journal Of Photography

URL: http://www.bjp-online.com/

Date Accessed: 22/04/2016

It really helped me in terms of research as it showed me some meaning behind some fine art work and it showed me the wide range of different fine art work that is out in the industry.

Author: The Photographic Journal

Date: Not Given

Title: The Photographic Journal

URL: http://thephotographicjournal.com/

Date Accessed: 22/04/2016

This helps me a lot more than other journals as you actually get to see a point of view straight from a photographer rather than an article which could be made up or made by others. This helped me also as it shows me what the photographer really feels about the images and how they see them and their overall views and opinions.

Author: William Wordsworth

Date: November 19th 2011 (Original Publish Date 1807)

Title: Daffodils

URL: http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/public/poetrycompetition/article3228991.ece

Date Accessed: 22/04/2016

From reading the poem I think it would really go well with the idea that I am thinking of as I will be able to create some really good fine art images from this and I will be able to show the story throughout the poem through a series of pictures. I really like this poem and because it has a lot of imagery I think I will be able to get really nice fine art images from it.

Author: Amber

Date: May 2008

Title: That Girl

URL: http://www.familyfriendpoems.com/user/amber-406/

Date Accessed: 22/04/2016

This poem could be really good to use in my project as it tells a story and is a very deep and heartfelt poem. I think it would show  emotion and I would be able to tell the story through my images and using different techniques I would be able to get all the right emotions in as well.


Timetabled Action Plan

Wednesday 20th April 2016- Complete ‘Rough Ideas’ for the project and choose one idea as a definite plan. Start the ‘Project Proposal’ and complete for home work

Friday 22nd April 2016- Start Primary and Secondary Research using the 5 key sources given in the brief (Finish as Homework)

Tuesday 26th April 2016- Create a Mood Board of my research finding and annotate their success and their effectiveness and use this research to develop my ideas for the project.

Wednesday 27th April 2016- Start my Shoot Plans and my Scheme of Work for my project and make sure everything is planned out and nothing goes wrong (Complete as Homework)

Friday 29th April 2016- Make sure all research and written work is finished and uploaded to my word press. Start Planning Experiment shots.

Tuesday 3rd May 2016- Take some experiment shots for the project so I can work out what my final piece will look like and see if there is anything that I will need to change before I start shooting the final images

Wednesday 4th May 2016- Continue Shooting Experiments

Friday 6th May 2016- Finish Shooting Experiments and make sure I have enough to see what my project will look like.

Tuesday 10th May 2016- Plan for my final shoot and looking at my experiments see if there is anything that I need to change about certain shots in order to make them better or better presented.

Wednesday 11th May 2016- Start Shooting for my final images and hopefully get 3-4/8 images done in this session and if any outside locations are required then make sure that these are completed as homework.

Friday 13th May 2016- Finish shooting any images that I need to do and make sure that all images are done and ready to be edited.

Tuesday 17th May 2016- Edit all my images and make sure they are at high ready to be handed in, presented and then published on a portfolio website. Finish any unedited images for homework.

Wednesday 18th May 2016-  Begin creating my web portfolio on which my images will be presented on for the pitch.

Friday 20th May 2016- Complete the web portfolio and make sure all images are uploaded ready for a pitch.

Tuesday 24th May 2016-Complete some personal development documents. Create and complete notes for the final pitches and make sure all images are ready.

Wednesday 25th May 2016- Working on the pitch and also the final evaluation.

Friday 27th May 2016- Working again on the pitch and final evaluation.

Tuesday 31st May 2016- Finish Final Evaluation and hand in all work ready for marking and exhibition set up.

Rest of Sessions Until Exhibition- Set up for exhibition and make sure all work and images are ready to be presented.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

