Photographer and Issue Inspired Shoot Plan

For a shoot that we have to complete as part of our project we must look at an issue that we either feel passionate about or that we have previously researched and also look at a photographer that we have previously looked at and researched. I previously researched both rankin and anxiety and these two things are what my shoot will be inspired by.

Rankin works really well with a lot of models and the makeup on them that he photographs is really good and it really stands out in a lot of his pictures and this is one of the things that I would like to focus on in my shoot as something that I have taken as an influence from rankin.

Anxiety  is a very serious issue and all around the world it is constantly being brought up and recognised in the media. It is something that I am very passionate about and I hate to see people suffer in silence just because they are different to others and reading some of their stories really makes me sad. Their emotions is something that I really want to focus on in the shoot and incorporate that with the makeup that rankin uses to create something for my shoot.

I have actually known someone who has gone through anxiety and they are still going through it now, knowing there story will help me know how to adjust their makeup to their feeling and their emotions. I feel that knowing there story will help me understand it more .

For my shoot I will use one of my friends who has actually been through this situation before and doing this is not to make a mockery of that person, but its not to make a mockery of the situation itself as if it is a joke because thats not what I want it to look like. I chose to use a person that has gone through it because I can get their side of the story and learn their story and use that to portray their story but inspired by rankin.

I would like to make the background as blank as possible because I don’t want the focus to be on the background as this means that the the audience won’t notice the meaning behind the photo they will just think about whats going on in the background.

To make this lighting possible i will use a black back drop as the base for my photo and quite dark but subtle lighting that will shine slightly on the model to put some slight emphasis on the makeup.

To add to the fact that the shoot is about the models story I would like the model to hold up something, maybe a sheet of paper with a paragraph or just a few words about their story and how it has effected them. To incorporate the makeup side of things into their story, i will ask them what sort of things they felt or thought of in their head when they have an anxiety attack and when they have a panic attack.

I hope this shoot will show the importance of the emotions that people go through when they go through an anxiety attack both physically and emotionally, as sometime people can be too scared to speak out about their story because they want to keep it personal or because they are just worried about what people will say and whether or not that they understand or not.

As this is quite a serious subject I hope that it wouldn’t offend anyone that is actually going through that situation because that is the last thing that I would want to do to anyone. But I hope to touch upon in a way that will make people understand what goes on in their head when they feel most down and vulnerable.

The equipment that I need to use for my shoot is:

  • Camera
  • Tripod
  • Soft Boxes
  • Black Backdrop
  • Face Paints
  • Card

This shoot should take me around a day to do as I will be constantly checking on lighting and how the makeup looks in the lighting.

I think this shoot will show in a positive way how people feel with anxiety and also what their emotions are really like. I hope it will also show the extent of the makeup that rankin uses on his models and the way that they look in terms of their facial features.

During my shoot i will look at my photos that I have already taken and think of different ways I can work in order to make the image better if i feel like the it is not good enough. I will also ask the model that I am using to see what she thinks about the images because its her story that I am portraying and I don’t want to use an image that she is uncomfortable with or doesn’t like because this could cause her to feel stressed about the picture that will essentially be published and that quite a few people will see.

Also I feel that if I look at my photos and continuously improve them then i will be able to show in my evaluation what I did in the first place, what I felt was wrong and how I improved it to make it better. This shows development throughout my shoot.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Photographer and Issue Inspired Shoot Plan

  1. Emily – This shoot sounds as if it will be a very interesting and positive experience f both you and your friend. You might find it worthwhile to take another look at the FAQ section of Rankin’s website (http://rankin.co.uk/faq/) and his answer to the question “How do you take a good portrait?” .. here he talks about how he works with models to bring out something from them this could also be something interesting to learn from him for your shoot..

    Like

  2. Ps You should try to use quotes to support your ideas throughout this project so if you can add a Rankin quote to this plan and also if possible something relevant from your research into anxiety.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

