Time and Movement Shoot

We have been learning in class about time and movement and the different types of photography you can use with shutter speed and movement in order to create different types of images that include different effects. The different types of photography that we were looking at were

  • Motion Blur Photography
  • Frozen Motion Photography
  • Panning Photography
  • Slow Sync Photography

We were asked to research these types of photography and find out what they mean and how they are used in photography. After this research we were asked to go out and shoot with our knowledge that we had of these types of photography and create a few images of each different type that we could use as proof that we understood what was happening with the different techniques and we also understood what they meant and how they worked.

We used the studio and the college surroundings to take our photos and we used studio lighting in the studio to be able to complete the slow sync section of the task.

It was key that we were constantly changing our shutter speed to adapt to which type of photography we were doing and this also gave us a variety of results for our work.

It was quite difficult at first to adapt to the camera because it wasn’t a camera that I had used before and because of this, it made my results a lot worse that what I would have liked. I feel that if I had my own camera with me then my results would have been a lot better than they are now as I know how to change the different settings and how to use the camera properly whilst changing this like aperture and shutter speed.

As it was hard to adapt to the camera and its settings we didn’t get a chance to try all of the different types of photography but I still managed to get some images that I thought were good and that were the best out of the whole shoot.

 

The three images below are the images that I thought where the best out of the whole shoot even though that we didn’t get very good results, but in photography I think it is good to get bad results because it shows that you know you have done something wrong or that you didn’t understand fully and it shows that you can progress and improve next time.

DSCF3277
This image is one of my best images as it shows motion blur photography. it shows motion blur because the camera captions the movement of the cards and as they are moving so fast and the camera is shooting slowly it creates a blur which represents the movement of the cards. I was happy with this image because of this but if I had to do this image again then I would use more cards and a slower shutter speed to have a bigger subject and more of  blur in the image.
DSCF3298
This image is an example of frozen motion photography as it freezes the movement of the cars but doesn’t create a blur because the camera uses a faster shutter speed than it does with motion blur so it doesn’t have a blurred effect. I was happy with my image because of this but it I had to do this image again then I would use a different subject because during my research i found that frozen motion photography works better with things like sports rather than cars out on the road.
DSCF3307
This is another example of frozen motion photography as it freezes the movement of the person and shows her mid way to jumping. there is no blur again like the other image as the camera is again using a fast shutter speed, so that there will be no blur in the image. I was happy with this image as it was a better example of frozen motion photography compared to the car one. As it shows physical movement of a person and has a better effect than the car image. If I had to do this image again then I would try it with different movements to see how they would turn out.

If I had to do this shoot again then I would use my own camera as I will be more confident when taking the pictures and I will also be able to change the settings and adapt my camera to the surroundings easier than when I know how to do it. I would also try to experiment with every type of photography that i researched because then I would be able to know how easy it actually is and I will be able to evaluate how much practice I need on that type of photography and what I can do next time to improve that type of photography. I will also try to go to different places so that i have different backgrounds in my images and they are more colourful and brighter than what they are. I also think this will make my results a lot better in the end as well and I will be a lot more happier with them. i enjoyed shooting these picture because some of the types of photography were things that i have never tried or done before but I still think I can get better results next time.

The following images are part of the home work task which were to add four images one of each shutter speed technique that we looked at.

Leave a Reply

