Photograms

Introduction

Recently we have been learning about Photo grams which is a process in photography which doesn’t require a camera.

We were asked to research three different photographers that used photo grams and research there work in photography and also analyse their images. We were also given the opportunity to compare their work to another photographer and find similarities or differences. This was our research task, but our practical task was to create one or two photo-grams and base them on a photographers work.

We went down to the dark room to create our images and we had to choose some objects to collage together for our photo grams. As we had never used photo-grams before we were very unsure of what to do so after it was explained to us we were then given the opportunity to start working. We started by choosing our objects and making a collage on the photo-gram paper which would therefore create a pattern on the paper. Then we had to measure up our shot and change the exposure of the light depending on how bright or dark we wanted our images. we then had to take the image and we did this by moving the small lens above the light which exposed the paper to the light, Then we had to count to a time in seconds that we thought was long enough for our paper to be exposed for. The longer we used the light for the brighter the images would be and the less time we left it for meant the images would be a lot darker. After doing this we had to remove the object form the paper and start putting the paper through the developing process. At the start of the development you have to place your paper in the developer for 1-2 minuets, then in the stop bath for 2 minuets, after that it goes in the fix for 5-10 minuets and finally in a bath of  cold water for 10-15 minuets. Once it had been in the cold water for long enough we then had to take them out and put them in the dryer.Our images were then finished.

Here our the resources that were needed to carry out a photo-gram-

  • A range of objects to create a collage/pattern in the image.
  • Photo-gram paper
  • Cold water bath
  • Fix bath
  • Stop bath
  • Developer bath
  • Tongs to transfer images
  • An enlarger

Research

The research we did was to analyse and look at the work of three different photographers that use or used photo-grams. we were asked to look at three different ones from different periods of time, this was so we could see how photography and the use of photo-grams has changed over the past couple of centuries. I chose to analyse the work of Anna Atkins, Man Ray and also Susan Derges. Out of all three I really liked the work of Man ray as it seemed very modern and he used different objects in the dark room to create a clear image of something different.This influenced my image as it  persuaded me to use a variety of different objects to create a shape or an image. As we had already done work on shape and learnt about it I tried my best to put this in to my photo-grams. Using a variety of objects and layering them together would also create different tones of light and different tones of whites, blacks and grey’s. Also the different objects I used had a variety of different textures to them which is also something that Man Ray included in his work

Outcome

Here are my final images that I created in the dark room.

IMG_0485         IMG_0486

My main strengths in these images is that I was able to create a photo-gram because at first I thought it would be very difficult and that I wouldn’t be able to do it. Also another strength is that I was able to create different tones of black and white in the image by moving the shapes further away and closer to the light and also by layering them up so some were more exposed to light than others.

I have a few things however that I need to improve on to make my photo-grams better. I think I should think more before hand about my ideas and what I should use in my photo-grams and why. Also use more objects and create more of a collage and a pattern of objects rather than just using two or three objects. Also position my objects better so the create a clearer and better picture.

Overall, I think my best outcome was the second image that I created as even though it did not work very well I tried to create a shape out of the two objects. I had a clear idea in my head of what I wanted to do instead of just throwing things under the light and hoping for the best. I also feel that it is more clearer than the first image and there is a clear distinction between the two objects. There is also a number of different shapes in the images which is something that we were told we had to focus on.

Leave a Reply

